Latest News

Gladstone House wins at Building Communities Awards 2019

19 February 2019

We are celebrating following a successful evening on Friday (February 15) at the Building Communities Awards 2019 ceremony in Leicester.

Newark and Sherwood Homes was presented with the award for Project of the Year for our successful project management and partnership with Newark and Sherwood District Council, Nottinghamshire County Council and Homes England in delivering Gladstone House, a purpose built social housing development for people aged 65 or over.

The extra care scheme reduces social isolation, promotes independent living for the elderly and offers a dementia-friendly environment. It was built by key contractor Henry Boot Construction, who also worked in partnership with local schools and charities to deliver added value initiatives.

Councillor Bruce Laughton, Chairman of Newark and Sherwood District Council’s Homes and Communities Committee, said: “Gladstone House is an exceptional extra care facility that is directly improving the lives of residents. It not only meets the needs of residents but is does so within a warm and homely environment where they can live independently.”

Newark and Sherwood Homes was placed second in the categories of Housing Provider of the Year and Social Housing New Build, after being pitted against three other organisations in the shortlist for each category.

Rebecca Rance, chief executive at Newark and Sherwood Homes, commented: “To be crowned winner and runners up for three regional accolades is a testament to our commitment to providing excellent housing services and driving value for money services. Gladstone House was delivered through a successful partnership and I am delighted so many residents now get to call this award winning scheme home.”

Hosted by procurement consortium EEM Ltd, the Building Communities Awards recognise the professionalism, excellence and innovation of the East Midlands’ construction and housing sectors.

Pictured with the award for Project of the Year are (L-R) Mick Carman, Dave Newmarch, Lesley Robinson, Julie Davidson, Kevin Shutt and Steve Feast.